Change of Plans

Well, I was going to write about Jenny’s birthday, and try to sell my new kit, but now everything has gone haywire and I don’t know what to do. First off, let me say that I am STILL SICK, I couldn’t keep my eyes open after dinner last night and Vince sent me up to bed and took care of the girls himself. I have allergies that won’t be alleviated by anything, no matter what. Not my prescription zyrtec, not by sudafed, not by one and 1/2 dose of sudafed PLUS my zyrtec, I more or less am constantly blowing my nose and sneezing, plus my other symptoms: achy joints, dizziness, nausea, fatigue.. so anyway, I was lying in bed with my two girls trying to wake up and Vince was in the shower and we got a call from Quinn: he got a speeding ticket. He is 17 years old and was going 84 in a 65. The ticket is for $114, and who knows what it will do to our insurance, which is already $200/mo because Quinn is on it. Well, I told Quinn that we’d see if we had any options, he’d go to court and see if he can take driving classes or whatnot. We’ll deal with it, is what I said, because really what’s the point in yelling at him now? When I see him tonight we’ll talk about how to make it so he wakes up on time and doesn’t have to rush to get to school (like imposing a curfew- he usually stays out studying till 10 or 11 on school nights, but it hasn’t been a problem and I know he’s REALLY STUDYING, so I let him, but not anymore.) Well, I went in to tell Vince and he went THROUGH THE ROOF. He FREAKED out. I told him not to yell at ME about it, because I didn’t do it and to please not yell in front of Atha, because it’s not fair to her, she always gets really upset when she even THINKS we are upset at each other. Not that we often fight, we don’t. But even if somebody is having a heated discussion about, say, the govenrment, she will jump in there and tell us to think happy thoughts, she just can’t stand conflict. I tried to be even with Vince, who was just all over the place about, “Why he was doing that is beyond me” (Um, he was probably in a hurry, Vince.) and the amount Quinn is costing him. Well, let me just interject here that Quinn has not had so much as a pair of pants since last tax time. He gets a $200/mo allowance for gas and lunch, and that’s all he buys. Mostly gas. The kid is working more or less full time trying to get a scholarship to a good college, so he doesn’t have a job. Now Vince is talking about Quinn’s going to have to pay for his own insurance and the car payment on the car he drives, etc etc, and how I am going to have to instill some discipline in that kid, etc etc.

Okay, Vince is no angel, and I know he had been in more trouble with the law before he was 17 than Quinn is likely to ever see in his life, he got a speeding ticket, it was dumb, let’s deal with it as a family. But it’s funny how something like this brings everything to light. Clearly Vince does not think of Quinn as a member of his family. It’s hard, because Vince is ten years younger than I am, and only 11 years older than Quinn. But, ah, Vince knew all of this when he married me almost 4 years ago, we’d been together 2 years then and he knew that Quinn’s dad doesn’t pay child support, and that Quinn can be argumentative. He’s had a tough life, lot of rejection. But he’s a smart kid and usually super responsible. He’s had to take care of me when Vince was deployed and I had a newborn and a toddler at home. He’s had to wake up in the middle of the night and drive people to the Emergency room, he’s not in any trouble with the law, he doesn’t CUT HIMSELF or do any drugs, he’s not having sex with anybody, he gets consistently good grades and is taking I think 4 AP classes right now- we could do A LOT worse.

Man, I don’t know what to do. If Vince is going to act this way I may have to take the girls and go live with my mom or something. Or go get a job myself. This sucks.

Anyway, if you want to read about Jenny’s birthday, go to my family blog, here’s the link. There’s even a video there of Jenny telling us she wants to get out of her chair.

Oh, and go buy my kit. LOL.

5 Responses

  1. Wow thats scary – 84 in a 65. Teenagers seem to think they are indestructable, Problem is he has probably done it before rushng around – yeah a ticket isn’t fun, but injuring or killing someone else isn’t either.

    Hope things settle down and you get well soon.

  2. Aw sweetpea….sending ya hugs ‘cuz ya need one…and wishing the grown up penis calms down….teenagers do stupid things….you deal with as a family and move on ….Keeping you in my thoughts today darlin’…..Mwah!

  3. Hope you feel better soon, and hugs for everything going on.

  4. Oh I’m so sorry to hear about all this… you poor thing. Hopefully your DH will cool off and things will be ok. I hope you have a great day despite it all. Take care.

  5. Ahhhhh, hon…. I’m so sorry. Wish I could do more, but consider yourself cyber-hugged. I’ve had enough friends from mixed families to know how hard it can be at times.

    As far as a plunge to Boyerville… maybe a Jan Guest? I can def handle a guest spot after Dec. LO-wise I can handle more teams, but it’s when there are posting reqs, etc involved that I can nervous ’cause SDD takes a LOT of posting time for me.

    [BIG SQUEEZY HUG}

Leave a Reply

