Power Restored

Hey Folks!
As you may have guessed, the past few days I wasn’t online because we were without power.  We were very much affected by that big ice storm.  Since Monday we’ve been at Vinnie’s platoon sgt’s house.  They have a generator, which makes sense because they are a platoon of generator mechanics.  So anyway, power was restored here on post last night, and we got back home at around 1 am.  Vince is going to be gone pretty much 100% of the time except for catnaps here and there since they are generator mechanics and they are working nonstop doing relief efforts.

Geez, sorry I feel like I’m not making much sense.  My brain is broke.

The good news is everybody’s okay, even the dog.  The bad news is, this ice storm stole Christmas.  All our perishable food is gone, and I had already bought everything we were going to be eating for Christmas. Now we get to restock, and that will EASILY take up all of the rest of the money we had left for Christmas presents, etc.  We’ll be eating cereal for the next couple of weeks I think.  It’s a good thing that we already had a tree and one thing for Atha to open, because it looks like that’s all we get this year.  But I don’t want to sound ungrateful, because everybody’s okay and that’s what counts.  A tree behind our house came down and missed us by a couple of feet.  If that had hit us, we’d be in a much worse situation.

Well, I have to go down and  muck out the fridge.  Yum.  I shouldn’t complain about that, either.  Today Vince was going to be working to restore power to a sewage treatment plant.  Hee hee.

I’ll be back to make the rounds pretty quick.  Love and hugs!

3 Responses

  1. Andrea – so sorry to hear ’bout your Christmas plans – but I’m glad you guys are all OK! Refresh my memory – how many kiddos do you have at home?

  2. Sounds like it’s gonna be tough for you. Do you have renters or homeowners insurance? That may cover the loss of the contents of your fride/freezer. Just a though. Hang in there hun.

  3. Honey I would like to email you but can’t find where to do that. Could you email me at pattysquirell@msn.com. Thanks so much Patty

Leave a Reply

